Park / garden

Promenade de Blossac

The Promenade de Blossac was converted into a French garden in the 1750th century on the initiative of the Comte de Blossac, intendant of Poitou from 1784 to 1574, on the site of the old feudal castle dismantled in 600. Originally, XNUMX abalones and hornbeams from Saint-Maixent and the abbey of Les Chateliers (near Ménigoute) were planted there.

This garden extends over a rocky outcrop overlooking the Vonne valley and the communal forest of the Grand Parc, former hunting ground of the Lords of Lusignan. A grassy path at the foot of the remains allows you to discover the importance of the fortress in the Middle Ages

Practical information



Conditions of visit: Free visit, Guided visit by appointment only
Languages ​​spoken for the visit: French

Further information

Location: In the countryside, Close to TER access (train, coach), Close to a motorway, Close to a main road, Accessible on foot from the Tourist Office, By the river, In the village
Type of site/monument/small heritage: Fortified complex and ramparts, Ruins and remains, Tower
Type of additional equipment: Site / monument, Guided tour of town, village
Facilities: Accessible by stroller, Picnic area
Activity: Temporary exhibitions