Back
Park / garden

Jardin des Plantes

POITIERS

A little corner of nature in Poitiers!

The Jardin des Plantes was created in 1869 on the gardens of the Hôtel-Dieu. Covering an area of ​​approximately 1,5 ha, it was designed to be a pleasure garden, with its cave, its pond, its mosaic beds and its landscaped paths.

It includes about a hundred species of trees and shrubs, which by their seniority and volume are remarkable. The botanical garden, created on the initiative of the professors of medicine for the purpose of documentation for the students of the nearby Faculty, is surrounded by hedges which separate it from the rest of the park.

The garden includes a botanical garden which contains a wide variety of labeled and classified plants (aromatic, condiment, medicinal, etc.) over some 4800 m². The 200m² tropical greenhouse houses 150 different species including a collection of orchids and cacti.

Visit

Conditions of visit: Free tour

Further information

Location: Downtown
Facilities: Accessible by stroller
Address
Jardin des Plantes
1 rue du Jardin des Plantes
86000 POITIES

Retour
Parc / jardin

Jardin des Plantes

Un petit coin de nature à Poitiers !

Le jardin des Plantes fut créé en 1869 sur les jardins de l'Hôtel-Dieu. D'une superficie d'environ 1,5 ha, il a été conçu pour être un jardin d'agrément, avec sa grotte, sa pièce d'eau, ses massifs de mosaïculture et ses allées au tracé paysager.

Il regroupe environ une centaine d'espèces d'arbres et d'arbustes, qui par leur ancienneté et leur volume sont remarquables. Le jardin botanique, créé à l'initiative des professeurs de médecine dans un but de documentation pour les étudiants de la Faculté toute proche, est entouré de haies qui le séparent du reste du parc.

Le jardin comprend un jardin botanique qui recèle une grande variété de plantes étiquetées et classées (aromatiques, condimentaires, médicinales...) sur quelque 4800 m². La serre tropicale de 200m² abrite 150 espèces différentes dont une collection d'orchidées et de cactées.

Visite

Conditions de visite : Visite libre

Informations complémentaires

Localisation : En centre-ville
Équipements : Accessible en poussette
Adresse
Jardin des Plantes
1 rue du Jardin des Plantes
86000 POITIERS