Museum

Musée de l’Amande et du Macaron

Back

Brought back to France in the XNUMXth century by Catherine de Medici, the Macaron recipe, a biscuit made from almonds, sugar and egg whites, quickly spread to many towns including Nancy, Amiens and St Emilion. Each offers a Macaron with the unique and inimitable recipe that makes them famous.

Among all the cities, Montmorillon has been renowned for its macaroons with a tender almond heart since 1811. Macaroons have been present there since the XNUMXth century and over the centuries have become the city's unmissable speciality.

Today, Maison Rannou-Métivier is the oldest macaron factory in Montmorillon. The traditional recipe has remained unchanged for more than 150 years and has been passed down in the same family for 5 generations with the same know-how and the same passion.

Practical information

French

Visit

Conditions of visit: Free visit, Guided visit by appointment only
Languages ​​spoken for the visit: French

Channels and labels

Further information

Location: Close to TER access (train, coach), Close to a national road, Accessible on foot from the tourist office, In the town centre, In town
Museum themes: Craftsmanship, Gastronomy, History, Professions
Services : Shop
Facilities: Accessible by stroller, Screening room
Payment Methods: Payment cards, Bank and post-office cheques, Cash
Address
Almond and Macaroon Museum
34 boulevard de Strasbourg
86500 MONTMORILLON

Retour
Musée

Musée de l’Amande et du Macaron

Rapporté en France au XVIème siècle par Catherine de Médicis, la recette du Macaron, biscuit fait d’amandes, de sucre et de blancs d’œufs, s’est vite répandue dans de nombreuses villes dont Nancy, Amiens, St Emilion. Chacune propose un Macaron à la recette unique et inimitable qui fait leur renommée.

Parmi toutes les villes, Montmorillon affiche une renommée pour ses macarons au cœur tendre d’amandes depuis 1811. Le Macaron y est présent dès le XVIIème siècle et au fil des siècles est devenu la spécialité incontournable de la ville.

Aujourd’hui, la Maison Rannou-Métivier est la plus ancienne fabrique de Macarons de Montmorillon. La recette traditionnelle demeure inchangée depuis plus de 150 ans et se transmet dans la même famille depuis 5 générations avec le même savoir-faire et la même passion.

Les informations pratiques

Français

Visite

Conditions de visite : Visite libre, Visite guidée uniquement sur rendez-vous
Langues parlées pour la visite : Français

Chaînes et labels

Informations complémentaires

Localisation : A proximité d'un accès TER (train, car), A proximité d'une route nationale, Accessible à pied depuis l'OT, En centre-ville, En ville
Thèmes du musée : Artisanat, Gastronomie, Histoire, Métiers
Services : Boutique
Équipements : Accessible en poussette, Salle de projection
Modes de paiement : Cartes de paiement, Chèques bancaires et postaux, Espèces
Adresse
Musée de l’Amande et du Macaron
34 boulevard de Strasbourg
86500 MONTMORILLON